Rebels record first ever win in Brisbane

Rebels record first ever win in Brisbane

Three point victory secured at the death

The RaboDirect Rebels have beaten the Reds for the first time in Super Rugby, with a double from Luke Burgess leading the way to a nail-biting 30-27 victory secured at the death.

It wasn't the start the Rebels were after as they headed to Suncorp Stadium to take on the Reds in a battle between 4th and 5th in the Australian conference.

Captain Scott Higginbotham, himself a former Red, was yellow carded after a late hit on Mike Harris in the 1st minute, and it was Harris who capitalised to score a 3rd minute converted try after the home team exploited an overlap created by the one-man advantage.

Jason Woodward, on his 24th birthday, hit back with an early penalty and in a blow for the home team star playmaker Cooper was substituted with a shoulder injury as Higginbotham returned to the field. And it was the Rebels who were next to score after a great turnover from Cadeyrn Neville led to a Tom English break, and a great Woodward offload for Tom Kingston to score his first for the Club. Woodward's kick was successful, as the visitors took the lead just 16 minutes into the clash. 

Harris, taking over the goal kicking duties, was next to score a penalty as Tamati Ellison was guilty of hands in the ruck after making a try-saving tackle on Cooper's replacement Ben Lucas. But after James Horwill was penalised for hands in the ruck, a great Rebels lineout saw Luke Burgess scoot through from 25 metres out and dot down under the posts, Woodward successfully converting. 

With half time approaching a minor scuffle broke out, with Steve Walsh warning both skippers, however there was still time for the Reds to score through Greg Holmes and Harris added the extras on the hooter to send the teams into the sheds locked at 17 points apiece.

It didn't take long for the Rebels to wrestle back the lead however, with Cadeyrn Neville doing well to regain the ball straight from the kick off. Just two minutes later, following good work by Colby Fainga'a and Scott Fuglistaller, scrumhalf Burgess was in for his second right under the posts, with Woodward again making no mistake with the kick.

The momentum swing continued, with a concerted push at the Rebels' line for ten minutes coming close for the hosts, only for Pat Leafa and Fainga'a to somehow prevent Horwill from scoring when he appeared destined to do so. The defensive pressure continued and eventually, after nearly 20 minutes of pressure, the Reds scored their third try through Lucas, locking the scores with less than 15 minutes to go.

In a physical game, Luke Burgess and Tamati Ellison joined Ben Daley and Cooper on the sidelines, with a young Rebels squad needing to step up without their most experienced backs. Woodward slotted another penalty from right on the touchline, only for Harris to respond with an equally challenging kick five minutes later to set up a showcase finish.

And it was an indiscretion from Ed O'Donoghue that presented the Rebels with the opportunity to take the lead, and ultimately the win, after he was red carded for serious misconduct. Jason Woodward slotted from directly in front, and the Rebels were able to put the ball into touch to record a historic first ever victory over the Reds.

RaboDirect Rebels 30 Tries: Kingston, Burgess (2) Conversions: Woodward (3) Penalties: Woodward (3)

Reds 27 Tries: Harris, Holmes, Lucas Conversions: Cooper, Harris (2) Penalties: Harris (2)

Referee: Steve Walsh

Assistant Referees: Matt O'Brien, Damien Mitchelmore

TMO: Peter Marshall

Official Attendance: 23,820

RaboDirect Rebels 1. Toby Smith 2. Pat Leafa 3. Laurie Weeks 4. Cadeyrn Neville 5. Luke Jones 6. Colby Fainga'a 7. Scott Fuglistaller 8. Scott Higginbotham (C) 9. Luke Burgess 10. Bryce Hegarty 11. Tom English 12. Mitch Inman 13. Tamati Ellison 14. Tom Kingston 15. Jason Woodward 16. Steve Fualau 17. Cruze Ah-Nau 18. Paul Alo-Emilie 19. Hugh Pyle 20. Sean McMahon 21. Ben Meehan 22. Telusa Veainu 23. Jack Debreczeni

Queensland Reds 1. Ben Daley 2. James Hanson 3. Greg Holmes 4. Rob Simmons 5. James Horwill (C) 6. Curtis Browning 7. Beau Robinson 8. Jake Schatz 9. Will Genia 10. Quade Cooper 11. JJ Taulagi 12. Anthony Fainga'a 13. Ben Tapuai 14. Dom Shipperley 15. Mike Harris 16. Saia Fainga'a 17. Albert Anae 18. Jono Owen 19. Ed O'Donoghue 20. David McDuling 21. Nick Frisby 22. Ben Lucas 23. Rod Davies