Two changes named for Super W side’s final match of 2019

· Super Rugby
by Rebels Media

The Melbourne Rebels have named two inclusions ahead of their final Super W match of the season against the NSW Waratahs Women on Sunday.

Yvonne Callaghan and Rachel Martin have replaced Alice Masters and Tuputausi Sae respectively, with both players listed to start the match in the replacements.

Ashley Marsters has been named to replace try scoring hero Sharlene Fagalilo at hooker, while Georgia Bradbery will return to the forward pack, shifting May Sa’aga into lock.

Super W Head Coach Alana Thomas says the side is determined to finish their season on a positive note against a formidable NSW outfit.

“The vibe in the team is high, everyone is ready and excited to go after the bye,” Thomas said.

“NSW is the benchmark of the competition, they are undefeated and have probably not played to a level they are capable of.

“We will have to be ready to go from the opening whistle and again, defence is the key for us.”

The Melburnian’s will look to continue improving after putting in a highly competitive performance against Rugby WA women, where the Rebels registered their first try of the season.

Thomas says the key to heading to Bathurst and being competitive will be down to trusting their game plan and delivering it in the heat of the match.

“We have gained a lot of confidence out of the WA game and the feeling in the sheds was on that we deserve to be a part of this competition,” she said.

“Above all, we can compete when we trust in ourselves and our plans.”

Melbourne Rebels Super W match day 23 v NSW Waratahs Women, Sunday 24th March at 3pm

1. Janita Kareta

2. Ashley Marsters

3. Bree-Anna Cheatham

4. Georgia Bradbery

5. May Sa'aga  

6. Casey Homewood

7. Alice Tonumaivao

8. Carmen Landkauf

9. Jessie Treherne

10. Meretiana Robinson

11. Tyra Boysen-Auimatagi

12. Tangata Tupou

13. Georgia Page

14. Courtney Frankl

15. Mikaela Welti

16. Sharlene Fagalilo

17. Faith Masina

18. Titilia Yabaki

19. Yvonne Callaghan

20. Utumalefata To'omalatai Atonio Eli

21. Wynonah Conway

22. Liana Pritchard- Matamua

23. Rachael Martin